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What the Practitioner Should 
Know about Certifying Cause of 
Death on the FLORIDA 
DEATH CERTIFICATE 

 

How Long Do I Have to Complete 

the Cause of Death? 

Pursuant to §. 382.008 (3), F.S, the certifier 

has 72 hours after receipt from the funeral 

director to complete the cause of death 

medical certification. 

Under the same statute, the funeral director is 

required to complete and file the death 

certificate within 5 days after date of death. 

However, the Bureau of Vital Statistics allows 

for an extension of an additional 5 days to the 

funeral director to allow them to meet with 

families and obtain the medical certification 

from certifiers to complete the death record. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What Must be Reported to the 
Medical Examiner?

§406.11, F.S., outlines those circumstances of 
death that fall under the jurisdiction of the 
medical examiner and must be reported to 
them:

Criminal Violence
Accident, suicide, homicide
Poison
In police custody, in prison or penal 
institution
Suddenly, when in apparent good health 
Criminal abortion
Unattended by practitioner

Unattended by practitioner does not include 
patients that die at home.

Once the medical examiner has determined 
there were no circumstances that would place 
the case under their jurisdiction, then the 
responsibility of certifying the death falls to 
the practitioner that treated the patient in the 
last 12 months.

 

Why is the Death Certificate so 

Important? 

Families cannot proceed with business 

without a completed death certificate. The 

death certificate is needed for multiple legal 

purposes such as probating estates, insurance 

claims, social security, Veteran’s benefits, or 

retirement benefits, to name a few. The death 

certificate is also important to Public Health 

to monitor: leading Causes of Death, 

unintentional injury, suicide & homicide 

related deaths, infant deaths or occupational 

related deaths, etc. 
 

Who Should Sign the death 

Certificate (§. 382.008, F.S.) 

Was this your patient, were you the attending 

practitioner, were you prescribing medication, 

were you treating the patient within the 12 

months preceding their death, or were you 

covering for a colleague? If so, you are the best 

person to complete the medical certification.  

Florida Statutes states the certificate must be 

signed by the practitioner in charge of the 

decedent’s care for the illness or condition, 

which resulted in death, or the physician in 

attendance at the time of death or immediately 

after death. 

Statutes also states, “...The practitioner or 

medical examiner shall certify over his or her 

signature the cause of death to the best of his 

or her knowledge and belief.” 

The cause of death should be recorded based 

on your best medical opinion. Terms such as 

“probable”, “possible”, etc. can be used when 

the certifier is not comfortable with an exact 

diagnosis.  

The medical certification of the death 

certificate is not prima facie proof of cause of 

death and may be amended at any time should 

additional information become available. 

Questions? Call the Bureau of Vital Statistics 

Quality Assurance—904-359-6900 ext. 9020 

Florida Department of Health 

Bureau of Vital Statistics 

P.O. Box 210  

Jacksonville, Florida 32231-0042 

www.floridahealth.gov/certificates 

DH Form #150-849 



The cause-of-death section consists of two parts. Part I is for reporting a chain of events leading directly to 

death, with the immediate cause of death (the final disease, injury, or complication directly causing death) 

on Line a and the underlying cause of death (the disease or injury that initiated the chain of morbid events 

that led directly and inevitably to death) on the lowest used line. Part II is for reporting all other significant 

diseases, conditions, or injuries that contributed to death, but which did not result in the underlying cause of 

death given in Part I. The cause-of-death information should be YOUR best medical OPINION. A 

condition can be listed as “probable” even if it has not been definitively diagnosed.  

Below is an example of a properly completed medical certification: 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

TIPS: Take care to make the entries legible. 

Cause of Death Part I (Chain of events leading directly to death) 

• Only one cause should be entered on each line. Line a MUST ALWAYS have an entry. DO NOT 
leave blank. Additional lines may be added if necessary. 

• If the condition on Line a resulted from an underlying condition, put the underlying condition on Line 
b, and so on, until the full sequence is reported.  ALWAYS enter the underlying cause of death on the 
lowest used line in Part I. 

• For each cause indicate the best estimate of the interval between the presumed onset and the date of 
death. The terms “unknown” or “approximately” may be used. General terms, such as minutes, hours, 
or days, are acceptable, if necessary. DO NOT leave blank. 

• The terminal event (e.g., cardiac arrest or respiratory arrest) should not be used. If a mechanism of 
death seems most appropriate to you for Line a, then you must always list its cause(s) on the line(s) 
below it (e.g., cardiac arrest due to coronary artery atherosclerosis or cardiac arrest due to blunt impact 
to chest). 

Death Certificate Items to be Completed by the Practitioner 

Time of Death 

The time of decedent’s death is to be entered 

according to the 24-hour (Universal Time Clock). 

Midnight is considered the beginning of the day 

and should be entered as “0000, the end of the 

day is “2359” - there is “2400”. This can be 

important when determining the date of death. 

 

Probable Manner of Death 

Always indicate the manner of death. Most cases 

certified by a practitioner, other then the medical 

examiner, are classified as a natural death. 

Deaths in which an accident, suicide, or homicide 

has occurred, or those classified as Pending 

Investigation or Undetermined, come under the 

jurisdiction of the medical examiner. 

 

Part II (other significant 

conditions) 

Enter all diseases or conditions contributing to 

death that were not reported in the chain of 

events in Part I and that did not result in the 

underlying cause of death.  See examples. 

If two or more possible sequences resulted in 

death, or if two conditions seem to have added 

together, report in Part I the one that, in your 

opinion, most directly caused death.  Report in 

Part II the other conditions or diseases. 

 

Other medical Items to Complete 

Surgery—If mentioned, enter the condition for 

which surgery was performed and the date. 

Tobacco contribute to death? 

Pregnancy, if applicable 

Transportation Injury 




