THE FULL TEXT OF THE PROPOSED RULE IS:

64J-1.024 Disciplinary Guidelines, Penalty Ranges, Aggravating and Mitigating Circumstances.

(1) The department is charged to take disciplinary action to protect the public from individuals and entities who
do not meet the minimum requirements for licensure, permitting, or certification or who pose a danger to the public
health and welfare. In discharging its duties, the department shall impose the following:

(a) Reprimand.

(b) Administrative fines. costs of continuing education and/or costs of professional treatment, and costs of
prosecution as authorized by statute.

(c) Probation with the minimum conditions of not violating laws, rules, and orders of the department, and
providing satisfactory reports to the department from employers and/or community supervision officers, or working
only under direct supervision.

(d) Probation with the minimum conditions plus proof of completion of specified continuing education related
to the violation for which discipline is imposed and/or the satisfactory completion of professional treatment.

(e) Suspension for a definite period of time.

(f) Suspension for a definite period of time followed by probation with minimum conditions plus proof of
completion of specified continuing education related to the violation for which discipline is imposed and/or the

satisfactory completion of professional treatment.
(2) Suspension stayed while the licensee or certificateholder complies with probationary conditions.
(h) Revocation of certification, licensure, or one or more permits.
(2) As used in this rule section, the following definitions apply:

(a) “Professional freatment” means evaluation, testing, treatment, and reporting by professionals licensed to
evaluate, diagnose, and treat the condition or impairment at issue in the disciplinary proceeding.

b) “Total fines” means the sum, as adjusted upon consideration of aggravating or mitigating factors., of the total
fines imposed for each violation.

() “Discipline imposed” means the total fines together with any reprimand, referral, denial. suspension. or
revocation.

(d) “Ethics course” means a course in health care ethics that requires in-person attendance, provides written
proof of course completion, and is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education
Programs or is offered by an accredited Florida college or university.

(e) “Revocation” means the nullification, withdrawal, or denial of a certification, license, or permit, whether
upon initial application or application for renewal or recertification.

(3) Upon finding that a person has violated any of the following statutes or rules, the department will notify the
violator and impose the corresponding penalty as set forth below. Except for 641-1.024(1)(a). (c), F.A.C.. each day

that a violation continues is a separate violation subject to a separate fine.

(a) Criminal and Civil Proceedings.

Chapter 401 Florida Statutes.
Section 401.411(1)(e). F.S.: The

conviction in any court in any state or in
any federal court of a felony, unless the

Maximum —
Reprimand, a $500
fine and a 3-month

with conditions. u;
to revocation.

Maximum —

person’s civil rights have been restored.

suspension followed

A $1.000 fine and a

i. Section 401.411(1)(b). F.S.: Being found | First Offense Second Offense Third Offense
guilty of, or pleading nolo contendere to,

regardless of adjudication in any Minimum — Minimum — Minimum —
jurisdiction. a crime that relates to practice |Reprimand. uptoa |A $1.000 fineanda | A $1.000 fine and a
as an emergency medical technician or $500 fine and a 3- 3-month suspension | 12-month probation
paramedic. or to practice in any other month probation followed by a 6- followed by a 12-
occupation, when operating under Part Il | with conditions. month probation month probation

with conditions, up
to revocation.

Maximum —
A $2.000 fine and a

Section 456.072(1)(c). F.S.: Being
convicted or found guiity of, or pleading
nolo contendere to, regardless of
adjudication, a crime in any jurisdiction
which relates to the practice of,_or the
ability to practice, a licensee’s profession.

by a 3-month

robation with
conditions, up to

6-month suspension

12-month suspension

followed by a 6-
month probation

revocation.

with conditions, u;
to revocation.

followed by a 12-

month probation
with conditions, up
to revocation.




Section 456.072(1)(ii), F.S.: Being
convicted of, or entering a plea of guilty or
nolo contendere to, any misdemeanor or
felony, regardless of adjudication, under
18 U.S.C. 5. 669, ss. 285-287.s. 371. s.
1001, s. 1035, 5. 1341, 5. 1343, 5. 1347. s.
1349, ors. 1518, or 42 U.S.C. ss. 1320a-
7b, relating to the Medicaid program.
Section 456.076(1)(11), F.S.: Being
convicted of, or pleading nolo contendere
to. any misdemeanor or felony. regardless
of adjudication, a crime in any jurisdiction
which relates to health care fraud.

ii. Section 456.072(1)(x). F.S.: Failing to | First Offense Second Offense Third Offense
report to the board. or the department if
there is no board, in writing within 30 days | Minimum — Minimum — Minimum —
after the licensee has been convicted or Reprimand. A $500 fine. A $1.500 fine and
found guilty of, or entered a plea of nolo proof of completion
contendere to, regardless of adjudication, a | Maximum — Maximum — of an 8-hour ethics
crime in any jurisdiction. Reprimand and a A $1.000 fine and course not to be
$500 fine. proof of completion | counted for biennial
of an 8-hour ethics recertification.
course not to be
counted for biennial | Maximum —
recertification. A 6-month
suspension and proof
of completion of an
8-hour ethics course
not to be counted for
biennial
recertification., up to
revocation.
iii. Section 456.072(1)(g). F.S.: Having First Offense Second Offense Third Offense
been found liable in a civil proceeding for
knowingly filing a false report or Minimum — Minimum — Minimum —
complaint with the department against Reprimand and a A $1.500 fine and A $3.000 fine. a 12-
another licensee. $500 fine. proof of completion | month suspension.
of an 8-hour ethics and proof of
Maximum -~ course not to be completion of an §-

Reprimand, a $1,000

counted for biennial

fine, and proof of recertification.
completion of an §-
hour ethics course Maximum —

hour ethics course
not to be counted for
biennial

recertification, up to

not to be counted for | A $1.500 fine, a 6- revocation.

biennjal month suspension,

recertification. and proof of Maximum —
completion of an 8- | A $3.000 fine and
hour ethics course revocation.

not to be counted for
biennial

recertification. up to
revocation.

(b) Investigations, Inspections, Administrative and Regulatory Proceedings.
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i. Section 456.072(1)(q). F.S.: Violatinga |First Offense Second Offense Third Offense
lawful order of the department or the
board or failing to comply with a lawfully | Minimum — Minimum — Minimum —
issued subpoena of the department. Reprimand. A $1.000 fineanda | A $3.000 fine. a 12-
Section 456.072(1)(k), F.S.: Failing to 3-month suspension | month suspension
perform any statutory or legal obligation Maximum — followed by a 3- followed by a 12-
placed upon a licensee. Reprimand and a month probation month probation
Section 456.072(1)(jj). F.S.: Failing to $500 fine, up to with conditions. up | with conditions, and
remit the sum owed to the state for an revocation. to revocation. proof of completion
overpayment from the Medicaid program of an 8-hour ethics
pursuant to a final order, judgment. or Maximum — course not to be
stipulation or settlement. A $2000 fine and 6- | counted for biennial
month suspension recertification, up to
followed by a 6- revocation.
month probation
with conditions, and | Maximum —
proof of completion | A $3.000 fine and
of an 8-hour ethics revocation.
course not to be
counted for biennial
recertification, up to
revocation.
ii. Section 456.072(1)(r), F.S.: Improperly | First Offense Second Offense Third Offense
interfering with an investigation or
inspection authorized by statute, or with Minimum — Minimum — Minimum —
any disciplinary proceeding. Reprimand. A $1.000 fineanda |A $3.000 fine. a 12-
3-month suspension | month suspension
Maximum — followed by a 3- followed by a 12-
Reprimand and a month probation month probation
$500 fine. up to with conditions, up | with conditions, and
revocation. to revocation. proof of completion
of an 8-hour ethics
Maximum — course not to be
A $2.000 fine and 6- | counted for biennial
month suspension recertification, up to
followed by a 6- revocation.
month probation
with conditions. and | Maximum —
proof of completion | A $3.000 fine and
of an 8-hour ethics revocation.
course not to be
counted for biennial
recertification. up to
revocation.
iii. Section 456.072(1)(f). F.S.: Having a | First Offense Second Offense Third Offense
license or the authority to practice any
regulated profession revoked, suspended, | Minimum — Minimum — Minimum —
or otherwise acted against, including the Reprimand and Probation with A $1.000 fine and

denial of licensure, by the licensing
authority of any jurisdiction. including its

action consistent

conditions until the

suspension until the

with the disciplinary

discipline imposed

discipline imposed

agencies or subdivisions, for a violation
that would constitute a violation under

guidelines for the
offense had it

Florida law.

initially come before
the Department prior

by the licensing

by the licensing

authority of the other | authority of the other
jurisdiction is jurisdiction is
satisfied. satisfied, followed b




Section 456.072(1)(kk), F.S.: Being
terminated from the state Medicaid
program pursuant to s. 409.913, any other

to the action that was

taken by the
licensing authority of

Maximum —

A $500 fine and

a 6-month probation
with conditions.

state Medicaid program. or the federal the other jurisdiction, | suspension until the |Maximum —
Medicare program, unless eligibility to with strong discipline imposed A $5.000 fine and
participate in the program from which the | consideration of the | by the licensing revocation.
practitioner was terminated has been penalty that was authority of the other
restored. actually imposed by | jurisdiction is

the licensing satisfied followed by

authority of the other | a 3-month probation

jurisdiction. with conditions.

Maximum —

Reprimand and

probation with

conditions until the

discipline imposed

by the licensing

authority of the other

jurisdiction is

satisfied or, if the

discipline imposed

was satisfied prior to

Department

certification, a 3-

month probation

with conditions.

(¢) Unprofessional conduct.

i. Section 401.411(1)(d). F.S.: Engaging in | First Offense Second Offense Third Offense
or attempting to engage in the possession,
except in legitimate duties under the Minimum — Minimum — Minimum —
supervision of a licensed physician, or the | Reprimand. A $1.000 fineanda |A $3.000 fine. a 12-
sale or distribution of any controlled 6-month suspension, { month suspension,
substance as set forth in chapter 893. Maximum — up to revocation. and proof of

Reprimand, a $500

satisfactory

fine, and proof of Maximum — completion of an
satisfactory A $1.000 fine. a 6- impaired practitioner
completion of an month suspension, program or employee
impaired practitioner | and proof of assistance program,
program or employee | satisfactory as evidenced by the

assistance program,

completion of an

as evidenced by the

impaired practitioner

written statement of
an evaluator, as

written statement of
an evaluator, as
defined by section

program or employee

assistance program,
as evidenced by the

defined by section
456.076(1)(b). F.S.,

up to revocation

456.076(1)(b), F.S.,

written statement of

up to revocation. an evaluator, as Maximum —
defined by section A $3.000 fine and
456.076(1)(b), F.S., |revocation.
up to revocation.
ii. Section 401.411(1)(g). F.S.: First Offense Second Offense Third Offense
Unprofessional conduct, including, but not
limited to, any departure from or failure to | Minimum — Minimum — Minimum —




conform to the minimal prevailing

Reprimand and a

A $1.000 fine and a

A $1.000 fineand a

standards of acceptable practice under this | $250 fine, 6-month suspension | 24-month suspension
part, including undertaking activities that followed by a 3- followed by a 24-
the emergency medical technician, Maximum — month probation month probation. up
paramedic, health care professional, or Reprimand and a with conditions, up | to revocation.

other professional is not qualified by $500 fine. up to to revocation.

training or experience to perform. revocation. Maximum —
Section 456.072(1)(0). F.S.: Practicing or Maximum — A $3.000 fine and
offering to practice beyond the scope A $1.000 fine and a | revocation.
permitted by law or accepting and 12-month suspension

performing professional responsibilities followed by a 12~

the licensee knows, or has reason to know, month probation

the licensee is not competent to perform. with conditions. up

Section 456.072(1)(p), F.S.: Delegating or to revocation.

contracting for the performance of

professional responsibilities by a person

when the licensee delegating or

contracting for performance of the

responsibilities knows, or has reason to

know, the person is not qualified by

training, experience, and authorization

when required to perform them.

iii. Section 401.411(1)(h), F.S.: Sexual First Offense Second Offense Third Offense
misconduct with a patient, including

inducing or attempting to induce the Minimum — Minimum — Minimum —

patient to engage. or engaging or Reprimand, a $500 A $1.000 fineanda |A $3.000 fineanda
attempting to engage the patient. in sexual | fine. and proof of 3-month suspension | 12-month suspension
activity. completion of an 8- | followed by a 6- followed by a 24-

Section 456.072(1)(v), F.S.: Engaging or

attempting to engage in sexual misconduct
as defined and prohibited in s. 456.063(1).

Sexual misconduct includes the oral, anal

or vaginal penetration by, or union with,
the sexual organ of another or the anal or

vaginal penetration of another by any other

object but does not include an act done for
a bona fide medical purpose.

hour ethics course

month probation

not to be counted for

with conditions to

month probation
with conditions to

biennial
recertification, up to

include, but not be

include, but not be

limited to, proof of

revocation.

Maximum —
Reprimand, a $1.000
fine, and proof of

completion of an 8-

limited to, proof of
completion of a 16-

hour ethics course

hour ethics course

not to be counted for

not to be counted for

biennial
recertification, up to

biennial
recertification, up to

The consent of the patient to an act of completion of an 8- | revocation. revocation.

sexual misconduct may not be raised as a | hour ethics course

defense in a disciplinary action under this | not to be counted for | Maximum — Maximum —

rule. biennial A $1.000 fineanda |A $5,000 fine and
recertification, up to | 6-month suspension | permanent
revocation. followed by a 12- revocation.

month probation
with conditions to

include, but not be
limited to, proof of
completion of an 8-
hour ethics course
not to be counted for
biennial
recertification. up to
revocation.




iv. Section 401.411(1)(c), F.S.: Addiction | First Offense
to alcohol or any controlled substance.
Section 401.411(1)(k). F.S.: Practicing as | Minimum —

an emergency medical technician,
paramedic, health care professional. or

Reprimand. a $100

fine, and a 12-month

other professional operating under this part

without reasonable skill and without
regard for the safety of the public by
reason of illness, drunkenness. or the use
of drugs, narcotics, or chemicals or any

robation with
conditions, to include

but not be limited to,
proof of satisfactory

Second Offense Third Offense
Minimum — Minimum —

A $500 fine and a 6- | A $1,000 fineand a
month suspension, 24-month

followed by a 24- suspension, followed

month probation
with conditions, to

by a 36-month
probation with

include but not be

completion of an

limited to, proof of

conditions. to include
but not be limited to.

other substance or as a result of any mental

impaired practitioner

satisfactory

or physical condition.
Section 456.072(1)(2), F.S.: Being unable
to practice with reasonable skill and safety

program or employee

completion of an

proof of satisfactory
completion of an

assistance program,
as evidenced by the

impaired practitioner

impaired practitioner

program or employee

1o patients by reason of illness or use of

written statement of

alcohol, drugs, narcotics, chemicals. or

an evaluator, as

any other type of material or as a result of

defined by section

assistance program,
as evidenced by the

program or employee
assistance program.,

as evidenced by the

written statement of

written statement of

any mental or physical condition. 456.076(1)(b), E.S. an evaluator, as an evaluator, as
defined by section defined by section
Maximum — 456.076(1)(b). F.S. [456.076(1)(b). F.S..
Reprimand, a $500 up to revocation.
fine, and a 6-month | Maximum —
suspension, followed | A $1.000 fine anda | Maximum —
by a 12-month 12-month A $3.000 fine and
probation with suspension, followed | revocation.
conditions, to include | by a 24-month
but not be limited to, | probation with
proof of satisfactory | conditions. to include
completion of an but not be limited to,
impaired practitioner | proof of satisfactory
program or employee | completion of an
assistance program, | impaired practitioner
as evidenced by the | program or employee
written statement of | assistance program,
an evaluator, as as evidenced by the
defined by section written statement of
456.076(1)(b). F.S. | an evaluator, as
defined by section
456.076(1)(b). E.S.,
up to revocation.
v. Section 456.072(1)(n), F.S.: Exercising | First Offense Second Offense Third Offense
influence on the patient or client for the
purpose of financial gain of the licensee or | Minimum — Minimum — Minimum —
a third party. Reprimand and proof | A $1.000 fine.a3- | A $3.000 fine and a
of completion of an | month suspension 6-month suspension
8-hour ethics course | followed by a 3- foliowed by a 6-
not to be counted for | month probation, and | month probation
biennial proof of completion | with conditions to
recertification. of an 8-hour ethics include, but not be
course not to be limited to, proof of
Maximum — counted for biennial | completion of an 8-

Reprimand, a $500

fine, and proof of
completion of an 8-

recertification. hour ethics course
not to be counted for
Maximum — biennial




hour ethics course

A $1.000 fine and a

recertification, up to

not to be counted for | 6-month suspension | revocation.
biennial followed by a 6-
recertification. month probation Maximum —
with conditions to A $3.000 fine and
include, but not be revocation.
limited to, proof of
completion of an §-
hour ethics course
not to be counted for
biennial
vi. Section 456.072(1)(aa), F.S.: Testing First Offense Second Offense Third Offense
positive for any drug. as defined in s.
112.0455. on any confirmed Minimum — Minimum — Minimum —
preemployment or employer-ordered drug | Reprimand. A $500 fine and A $1.500 fine and a
screening when the practitioner does not proof of completion | 6-month probation
have a lawful prescription and legitimate | Maximum— of an 8-hour ethics with conditions to
medical reason for using the drug. Reprimand and a course not to be include, but not be
$250 fine. counted for biennial | limited to, proof of
recertification. completion of an 8-
hour ethics course
Maximum — not to be counted for
A $1.000 fine anda | biennial
3-month probation recertification, up to
with conditions to revocation.
include, but not be
limited to, proof of | Maximum —
completion of an 8- | A $3.000 fine and a
hour ethics course 12-month probation
not to be counted for | with conditions to
biennial include, but not be
recertification. limited to, proof of
completion of an 8-
hour ethics course.
up to revocation.
vii. Section 456.072(1)(hh), F.S.: Being First Offense Second Offense Third Offense
terminated from an impaired practitioner
program that is overseen by a consultant as | Minimum — Minimum — Minimum —
described in s. 456.076. for failure to Reprimand, a $100 A $200 fine and a A $1.000 fineand a

comply, without good cause, with the

fine, and a 12-month

24-month probation

24-month suspension

terms of the monitoring or participant probation with with conditions, up | followed by a 36-
contract entered into by the licensee, or for | conditions. up to to revocation. month probation
not successfully completing any drug revocation. with conditions. up
treatment or alcohol treatment program. Maximum — to revocation.
Maximum — A $500 fine and a
Reprimand, a $100 12-month suspension | Maximum —
fine, and a 24-month | followed by a 24- Revocation.
probation with month probation
conditions. up to with conditions, up
revocation. to revocation.
viii. Section 456.072(1)(1), F.S.: Making or | First Offense Second Offense Third Offense

filing a report which the licensee knows to




be false, intentionally or negligently

failing to file a report or record required by
state or federal law, or willfully impeding
or obstructing another person to do so.

Minimum - Minimum — Minimum —
Reprimand, a $500 | A $1.000 fincanda |A $1.500 fine and a
fine, and proof of 3-month probation 6-month suspension
completion of an 8- | with conditions to followed by a 12-

hour ethics course

include, but not be

month probation

not to be counted for

limited to. proof of

with conditions to

biennial

completion of an 8-

include. but not be

for a new license is required when:
(a) A majority of the ownership or a

fine for each day

whichever is greater.

recertification. hour ethics course limited to. proof of
not to be counted for | completion of an §-
Maximum — biennial hour ethics course
Reprimand. a $1.000 | recertification. not to be counted for
fine, and a 3-month biennial
probation with Maximum — recertification, up to
conditions to include. | A $1.000 fine and a | revocation.
but not be limited to, | 3-month suspension
proof of completion | followed by a 3- Maximum —
of an 8-hour ethics month probation A $2.000 fine and
course not to be with conditions to revocation.
counted for biennial | include, but not be
recertification. limited to, proof of
completion of an 8-
hour ethics course
not to be counted for
biennial
recertification. up to
revocation,
(d) Communications with the department.
i. Section 401.26(5)(a), F.S.: In order to First Offense Second Offense Third Offense
renew a vehicle or aircraft permit issued
pursuant to this part, the applicant must: Minimum — Minimum — Minimum —
(a) Submit a renewal application. Such | Reprimand and up to | A $500 fine or a A $1.000 fine ora
application must be received by the 2 $250 fine. $150 fine for each $500 fine for each
department not more than 90 days or less day after the day after the
than 30 days prior to the expiration of the | Maximum — application was due | application was due
permit. Reprimand and a to be received by the |to be received by the
Section 401.321(3), F.S.: An application $250 fine or a $50 department, department,

whichever is greater.

after the application

controlling interest of a service is
transferred or assigned; and

(b) A lessee agrees to undertake or
provide services to the extent that legal

was due to be

received by the

department,
whichever is greater.

liability for the service rests with the
lessee.

The application for a new license showing
such change must be submitted so as to be
received by the department at least 60 days
prior to the date of the sale. transfer,

assignment, or lease,

Maximum — Maximum —
A $700 fineora A $1,500 fine ora
$250 fine for each $1.000 fine for each

day after the

application was due
to be received by the

day after the

application was due
to be received by the

department,
whichever is greater.

department,
whichever is greater,

up to revocation.

ii. Section 401.411(1)(f). F.S.: Knowingly

making false or fraudulent claims;
procuring, attempting to procure. or
renewing a certificate, license, or permit

First Offense

Minimum —
Reprimand and proof

Second Offense

Third Offense

Minimum —

Minimum —




by fakery, fraudulent action. or

misrepresentation.
Section 456.072(1)(h), F.S.: Attempting to

of completion of a 3-

hour ethics course,

Reprimand and a 3-
month probation

A $1.000 fine and a
3-month suspension

not to count for

obtain, obtaining, or renewing a license to
practice a profession by bribery, by
fraudulent misrepresentation, or through
an error of the department or the board.
Section 456.072(1)(w), F.S.: Failing to
comply with the requirements for profiling

certification or
biennial
recertification.

Maximum —
Reprimand and a 3-

with condition to

followed by a 3-

include, but not be

month probation

limited to. proof of

with conditions to

completion of an 8-

include, but not be

hour ethics course, .
not to count for

limited to, proof of
completion of a 16-

certification or

hour ethics course

and credentialing, including, but not month probation biennial not to be counted for
limited to, failing to provide initial with condition to recertification, up to | biennial
information, failing to timely provide include, but not be revocation. recertification, up to
updated information, or making limited to. proof of revocation.
misleading, untrue, deceptive, or completion of an 8- | Maximum —
fraudulent representations on a profile, hour ethics course, A $1.000 fineanda |Maximum —
credentialing. or initial or renewal not to count for 3-month suspension | A $5.000 fine and
licensure application. certification or followed by a 3- revocation.
biennial month probation
recertification, up to | with conditions to
revocation., include, but not be
limited to, proof of
completion of a 16-
hour ethics course
not to be counted for
biennial
recertification, up to
revocation,
iii. Section 401.411(1)(i), F.S.: The failure |First Offense Second Offense Third Offense
to give to the department, or its authorized
representative, true information upon Minimum — Minimum — Minimum —
request regarding an alleged or confirmed | Reprimand. A $1.000 fineanda |A $1.500 fineand a
violation of this part or rule of the 3-month probation 3-month suspension
department. Maximum — with conditions to followed by a 6-
Reprimand, a $500 include, but not be month probation

fine, and proof of
completion of a 3-

limited to. proof of
completion of an 8-

with conditions to
include, but not be

hour ethics course

hour ethics course

limited to. proof of

not to count for

not to count for

completion of an 8-

biennial biennial hour ethics course
recertification, up to | recertification, up to | not to count for
revocation. revocation. biennial
recertification, up to
Maximum — revocation,
A $1.000 fine and 6-
month probation Maximum —
with conditions to A $2.000 fine and a
include, but not be 12-month suspension
limited to, proof of | followed by a 24-
completion of an 8- | month probation

hour ethics course

with conditions to

not to count for

include, but not be

biennial limited to. proof of
recertification, up to | completion of a 16-
revocation. hour ethics course




not to count for

biennial
recertification, up to
revocation.

iv. Section 401.411(1)(1). F.S.: The failure | First Offense Second Offense Third Offense

to report to the department any person

known to be in violation of this part. Minimum — Minimum — Minimum —

Section 456.072(1)(i). F.S.: Except as Reprimand. A $1.000 fineanda |[A $1.500 fineanda

provided in s. 465.016, failing to report to 3-month probation 3-month suspension

the department any person who the Maximum — with conditions to followed by a 6-

licensee knows is in violation of this

chapter, the chapter regulating the alleged
violator, or the rules of the department or

Reprimand. a $500
fine, and proof of

include, but not be

month probation

limited to, proof of

with conditions to

completion of a 3-

completion of an 8-

include, but not be

the board.

hour ethics course

hour ethics course

limited to, proof of

not to count for

not to count for

completion of an 8-

biennial biennial hour ethics course
recertification, up to | recertification, up to | not to count for
revocation. revocation. biennial
recertification, up to
Maximum — revocation.
A $1.000 fine and 6-
month probation Maximum —
with conditions to A $2.000 fine and a
include, but not be 12-month suspension
limited to, proof of | followed by a 24-
completion of an 8- | month probation
hour ethics course with conditions to
not to count for include, but not be
biennial limited to, proof of
recertification, up to | completion of a 16-
revocation. hour ethics course
not to count for
biennial
recertification. up to
revocation.
v. Rule 64J-1.008(3), F.A.C.: In the event | First Offense Second Offense Third Offense
an applicant or certified EMT changes the '
mailing address he or she has provided the | Minimum — Minimum — Minimum —
department, the applicant or certified EMT | Reprimand. A $250 fine. A $500 fine and
shall notify the department within 10 days proof of completion
of the address change. Maximum — Maximum — of a 3-hour ethics
Rule 64J-1.009(4), F.A.C.: In the event an | Reprimand and a A $500 fine and course not to count
applicant or certified paramedic changes $250 fine. proof of completion | for biennial
the mailing address he or she has provided of a 3-hour ethics recertification.
the department, the applicant or certified course not to count
paramedic shall notify the department for biennial Maximum —
within 10 days of the address change. recertification. A $1.000 fineand a

3-month probation
with conditions to

include, but not be
limited to. proof of
completion of an 8-
hour ethics course
not to count for
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biennial

(e) Communications with the public.

i. Section 401.411(1)(j), F.S.: Fraudulent | First Offense Second Offense Third Offense

or misleading advertising or advertising in

an unauthorized category. Minimum — Minimum — Minimum —
Reprimand and a fine | A $1.000 fine. A $3.000 fine. up to
of up to $250. revocation.

Maximum —

Maximum — A $2.000 fine, up to | Maximum —
Reprimand and a revocation. A $5.000 fine and
$500 fine. : revocation,

ii. Section 401.251(4)(c), F.S.: Unless, in | First Offense Second Offense Third Offense

the opinion of the attending physician, the

patient has an emergency medical Minimum — Minimum — Minimum —

condition as defined by s. 395.002, the Reprimand and a A $1.000 fine. A $3.000 fine, up to

service must provide each person using the | $250 fine. revocation.

service, before rendering the service, a Maximum —

written description of the services to be Maximum — A $2.000 fine. up to | Maximum —A $5.000

rendered and the cost of those services. Reprimand and a revocation. fine and revocation.

Section 456.072(1)(u), F.S.: Failing to $500 fine.

comply with the requirements of ss.

381.026 and 381.0261 to provide patients

with information about their patient rights

and how to file a patient complaint.

iii. Section 456.072(1)(a), F.S.: Making First Offense Second Offense Third Offense

misleading, deceptive, or fraudulent

representations in or related to the practice | Minimum — Minimum — Minimum —

of the licensee’s profession. Reprimand and proof | A $1.000 fine, a 3- A $3.000 fineand a

Section 456.072(1)(m), F.S.: Making
deceptive. untrue, or fraudulent

representations in or related to the practice
of a profession or employing a trick or

of completion of an

month suspension

8-hour ethics course | followed by a 3-
not to be counted for | month probation, and
biennial proof of completion

scheme in or related to the practice of a recertification.
profession.
Maximum —

Reprimand, a $500

fine, and proof of
completion of an §-

of an 8-hour ethics

6-month suspension

followed by a 6-

month probation
with conditions to

include, but not be

course not to be
counted for biennial

hour ethics course

limited to, proof of
completion of an 8-

not to be counted for
biennial
recertification.

recertification. hour ethics course
not to be counted for

Maximum — biennial

A $1.000 fine and a | recertification, up to

6-month suspension | revocation.

followed by a 6-

month probation Maximum —

with conditions to A $3.000 fine and

include, but not be revocation.

limited to, proof of
completion of an §-
hour ethics course
not to be counted for
biennial
recertification.
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iv. Section 456.072(1)(t), F.S.: Failing to | First Offense Second Offense Third Offense
identify through written notice, which may
include the wearing of a name tag. or Minimum - Minimum — Minimum —
orally to a patient the type of license under | Reprimand. A $250 fine. A $500 fine and
which the practitioner is practicing. proof of completion
Maximum — Maximum — of a 3-hour ethics
Reprimand and a A $500 fine and course not to count
$250 fine. proof of completion | for biennial
of a 3-hour ethics recertification.
course not to count
for biennial Maximum —
recertification. A $1.000 fineand a
3-month probation
with conditions to
include. but not be
limited to, proof of
completion of an §-
hour ethics course
not to count for
biennial
v. Section 456.072(1)(y), F.S.: Using First Offense Second Offense Third Offense
information about people involved in
motor vehicle accidents which has been Minimum — Minimum ~ Minimum —
derived from accident reports made by law | Reprimand and proof | A $1.000 fine. a 3- A $3.000 fine and a
enforcement officers or persons involved | of completion of an | month suspension 6-month suspension
in accidents under s. 316.066. or using 8-hour ethics course | followed by a 3- followed by a 6-
information published in a newspaper or not to be counted for | month probation, and | month probation
other news publication or through a radio | biennial proof of completion | with conditions to

or television broadcast that has used
information gained from such reports, for
the purposes of commercial or any other
solicitation whatsoever of the people
involved in the accidents.

recertification.

Maximum —

of an 8-hour ethics

include, but not be

course not to be

limited to. proof of

counted for biennia]

completion of an 8-

Reprimand. a $500 recertification. hour ethics course
fine, and proof of not to be counted for
completion of an 8- | Maximum — biennial

hour ethics course A $1.000 fine and a | recertification. up to

not to be counted for | 6-month suspension | revocation.
biennial followed by a 6-
recertification. month probation Maximum —
with conditions to A $3.000 fine and
include, but not be revocation.
limited to, proof of
completion of an 8-
hour ethics course
not to be counted for
biennial
recertification.
(f) Personnel, vehicles, aircraft. and equipment.
i. Section 401.25(7)(a). (b), F.S.: Each First Offense Second Offense Third Offense
permitted basic life support ambulance not
specifically exempted from this part. when | Minimum — Minimum — Minimum —
transporting a person who is sick. injured, | Reprimand and a The lesser of a The lesser of a
wounded, incapacitated, or helpless, must | $500 fine. $1.000 fine or a $500 | $2.000 fine or a
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be occupied by at least two persons: one
patient attendant who is a certified
emergency medical technician, certified
paramedic, or licensed physician; and one
ambulance driver who meets the
requirements of's. 401.281.

Each permitted advanced life support

ambulance not specifically exempted from
this part, when transporting a person who

is sick, injured, wounded, incapacitated. or
helpless, must be occupied by at least two
persons: one who is a certified paramedic
or licensed physician; and one who is a
certified emergency medical technician,
certified paramedic, or licensed physician

who also meets the requirements of s.
401.281 for drivers.

fine for each day of

$1.000 fine for each

Maximum — the violation. day of the violation,
Reprimand and a up to revocation.
$500 fine or a $250 | Maximum —

fine for each day of | A $1,500 fineora Maximum —

the violation $1.000 fine for each | A $3.000 fineor a
whichever is greater. | day of the violation, | $1.000 fine for each

whichever is greater,
up to revocation.

day of the violation,
whichever is greater,

and revocation.

ii. Section 401.251(4)(b), F.S.: If the air First Offense
ambulance service uses rotary-winged

aircraft in conjunction with another Minimum —
emergency medical service, the air Reprimand, up to
ambulance service must meet the revocation.
provisions of this section and must meet

separate basic life support and advanced Maximum —

life support requirements unigue to air Reprimand and a
ambulance operations as is required by $500 fine or a $250

rules of the department. Such service is

fine for each day of

subject to the provisions of's. 401.25

relating to a certificate of public
convenience and necessity; however, a

the violation,
whichever is
greater, up to

Second Offense Third Offense
Minimum — Minimum —

A $1.000 fineora A $2.000 fineora
$500 fine for each $1.000 fine for each

day of the violation,

day of the violation,

whichever is
greater, up to

whichever is
reater, up to

revocation. revocation.
Maximum — Maximum —

A $1.500 fineora A $3.000 fineor a
$1.000 fine for each | $1.000 fine for each

service may operate in any county under | revocation. day of the violation, | day of the violation,

the terms of mutual aid agreements. whichever is whichever is
greater, up to greater, and
revocation. revocation.

iii. Section 401.252. F.S.: (1) A licensed First Offense Second Offense Third Offense

basic or advanced life support ambulance

service may conduct interfacility transfers | Minimum — Minimum — Minimum —

in a permitted ambulance, using a Reprimand and up to | A $1.000 fineora A $2.000 fineora

registered nurse in place of an emergency |a $250 fine. $500 fine for each $1.000 fine for each

medical technician or paramedic, if: day of the violation, |day of the violation,

(a) The registered nurse holds a current Maximum — whichever is greater. | whichever is greater,

certificate of successful course completion | Reprimand and a up to revocation.

in advanced cardiac life support; $500 fine or 2 $250 | Maximum —

(b) The physician in charge has granted fine for each day of | A $1.500 fineora Maximum —

permission for such a transfer, has the violation, $1.,000 fine for each | A $3.000 fine or a

designated the level of service required for | whichever is lesser. | day of the violation, | $1.000 fine for each

such transfer, and has deemed the patient
to be in such a condition appropriate to
this type of ambulance staffing; and

(c) The registered nurse operates within
the scope of part I of chapter 464.

(2) A licensed basic or advanced life
support service may conduct interfacility

transfers in a permitted ambulance if the

whichever is greater,

day of the violation,

up to revocation.

whichever is greater,
and revocation.
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patient’s treating physician certifies that
the trangfer is medically appropriate and
the physician provides reasonable transfer
orders. An interfacility transfer must be
conducted in a permitted ambulance if it is
determined that the patient needs. or is
likely to need. medical attention during
transport. If the emergency medical
technician or paramedic believes the level

of patient care required during the transfer
is beyond his or her capability, the medical

director, or his or her designee, must be
contacted for clearance prior to conducting
the transfer. If necessary, the medical
director, or his or her designee, shall
attempt to contact the treating physician
for consultation to determine the
appropriateness of the transfer.

(3) Infants less than 28 days old or
infants weighing less than 5 kilograms,
who require critical care interfacility
transport to a neonatal intensive care unit,
shall be transported in a permitted
advanced life support or basic life support
transport ambulance, or in a permitted
advanced life support or basic life support
ambulance that is recognized by the
department as meeting designated criteria
for neonatal interfacility critical care

transport.

iv. Section 401.281(1), F.S.: Each licensee | First Offense Second Offense Third Offense

is responsible for assuring that its vehicles

are driven only by trained, experienced, Minimum — Minimum — Minimum —

and otherwise qualified personnel. The Reprimand and a A $1.000 fineora A $2.000 fineora
licensee must, at a minimum. document $500 fine. $500 fine for each $1.000 fine for each
that each of its drivers: day of the violation. | day of the violation,
(a) Is at least 18 years of age: Maximum - whichever is greater. | whichever is greater,
{(b) _Certifies under oath that he or she is | Reprimand and a up to revocation. up to revocation.
not addicted to alcohol or any controlled $500 fine or a $250

substance; fine for each day of | Maximum — Maximum —

(c) _Certifies under oath that he or she is | the violation, A $1.500 fineora A $3.000 fineor a
free from any physical or mental defect or | whichever is greater. | $1.000 fine for each | $1.000 fine for each

disease that might impair his or her ability

to drive an ambulance:

(d) Upon initial designation as a driver,
has not, within the past 3 years. been
convicted of driving under the influence of
alcohol or controlled substances and has
not had a driver license suspended under
the point system provided for in chapter
322;

(e) Possesses a valid driver license
issued under chapter 322. is trained in the

safe operation of emergency vehicles. and

day of the violation,

day of the violation,

whichever is greater,

up to revocation.

whichever is greater,
and revocation.
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has completed an emergency vehicle
operator’s course or the reasonable
equivalent as approved by the department;
however. this paragraph applies only to a
driver of a land vehicle:

(f) Possesses a valid American Red
Cross or National Safety Council standard
first aid course card or its equivalent; and
(g) Possesses a valid American Red
Cross or American Heart Association
cardiopulmonary resuscitation card.

(2) Records.
1. Section 401.2701(4), F.S.: Approved First Offense Second Offense Third Offense
emergency medical services training
programs must maintain records and Minimum — Minimum — Minimum —
reports that must be made available to the | Reprimand. A $500 fine ora A $1.500 fineora
department, upon written request. $250 fine for each $1.000 fine for each
Maximum — day after the date day after the date
Reprimand and a that the record must | that the record must
$250 fine. be created or made be created or made
available for available for
inspection by the inspection by the
department, as department, as
applicable, applicable,
whichever is greater. | whichever is greater,
up to revocation.
Maximum —
A $1.000 finceora Maximum —
$500 fine for each A $2.000 fine ora
day after the date $1.000 fine for each
that the record must | day after the date
be created or made that the record must
available for be created or made
inspection by the available for
department, as inspection by the
applicable, department, as
whichever is greater, | applicable.
up 1o revocation. whichever is greater,
and revocation.
ii. Section 401.30(1). F.S.: Each licensee | First Offense Second Offense Third Offense
must maintain accurate records of
emergency calls on forms that contain Minimum — Minimum — Minimum —
such information as is required by the Reprimand and a A $1.000 fineora A $1.500 fineora
department. These records must be $250 fine. $500 fine for each $1.000 fine for each
available for inspection by the department day after the date day after the date
at any reasonable time, and copies thereof | Maximum — that the record must | that the record must
must be furnished to the department upon |Reprimand and a be created or made be created or made
request. $500 fine or a $250 | available for available for

Rule 64J-1.014(1). (5). (8). (10)-(13), fine for each day inspection by the inspection by the
F.A.C.: Providers must create and after the date that the | department, as department, as
maintain patient care records, maintain record must be applicable, applicable,

records for five vears, maintain a
biohazardous waste handling, storage. and

created or made
available for

whichever is greater.

whichever is greater,

up to revocation.
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disposal plan, maintain documentation
describing the service rendered to the

patient and cost, document cabin altitude

inspection by the Maximum —
department, as A $1.000 fine ora Maximum —
applicable, $500 fine for each A $2.000 fine or a

hourly. if applicable, and submit electronic
or paper patient care records to the
Department.

whichever is greater.

day after the date

$1.000 fine for each

that the record must

day after the date

be created or made
available for
inspection by the

that the record must
be created or made
available for

department, as

inspection by the

applicable, department, as
whichever is greater, | applicable,
up to revocation. whichever is greater,
and revocation.
iii. Section 401.30(2). F.S.: Each licensee | First Offense Second Offense Third Offense
must provide the receiving hospital with a
copy of an individual patient care record Minimum — Minimum — Minimum —
for each patient who is transported to the | Reprimand and a A $1.000 fine or a A $2.000 fine or a
hospital. $250 fine. $500 fine for each $1.000 fine for each
Rule 64J-1.014(7), F.A.C.: Medication day after the date day after the date
errors and reactions en route shall be Maximum — that the record must | that the record must
reported to the physician who ordered the |Reprimand and a be provided to the be provided to the
medication, the receiving physician, and $500 fine or a $250 | receiving facility, receiving facility,
the ALS medical director. fine for each day whichever is greater. | whichever is greater,
Rule 64J-1.014(14), F.A.C.: A patient care | after the date that the up to revocation.
record as defined in subsection 64J- record must be Maximum —
1.001(18). F.A.C., or an electronic patient | provided to the A $1.500 fineora Maximum —
care record containing the same receiving facility, $1.000 fine for each | A $3.000 fineora
information shall be made available by the | whichever is greater. | day after the date $1.000 fine for each

EMS provider to the receiving hospital
upon request within 48 hours of the time
the vehicle is originally dispatched in
response to the request for emergency
medical assistance.

that the record must

day after the date

be provided to the

that the record must

receiving facility,

be provided to the

whichever is greater,

receiving facility,

up to revocation.

whichever is greater,
and revocation.

(h) Unlicensed, ungérmittedg and uncertified activity.

conducts, maintains, advertises, engages
in, proposes to engage in, or professes to
engage in the business or service of
providing prehospital or interfacility

advanced life support services or basic life

i. Section 401.25(1). F.S.: Every person, First Offense Second Offense Third Offense

firm, corporation, association, or

governmental entity owning or acting as Minimum — Minimum — Minimum —

agent for the owner of any business or Reprimand and a A $2.000 fineora A $5.000 fine or a
service which furnishes. operates. $1.000 fine or a $500 | $1,000 fine for each | $1.000 fine for each

fine for each day of

day of the violation,

day of the violation,

the violation

whichever is greater,
up to revocation.

whichever is applicable. before offering

support transportation services must be Maximum —
licensed as a basic life support service or | Reprimand and a
an advanced life support service, $1.500 fineora

$1.000 fine for each

whichever is greater,

whichever is greater,

up to revocation.

and revocation.

Maximum — Maximum —
A $5.000 fineora A $10,000 fineor a
$1.000 fine for each | $1.000 fine for each

day of the violation,

day of the violation,

whichever is greater,

whichever is greater,

such service to the public.
Section 401.251(1), F.S.: Each person,

day of the violation,

up to revocation.

whichever is greater,

firm, corporation, association, or
governmental entity that owns or acts as

up to revocation

and revocation.
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an agent for the owner of any business or

service that furnishes, operates, conducts,
maintains, advertises, engages in, proposes
to engage in. or professes to engage in the
business or service of transporting by air
ambulance persons who require or are

likely to require medical attention during
transport must be licensed as an air

ambulance service, before offering such
service.

Section 456.072(1)(j). F.S.; Aiding,
assisting, procuring, employing, or

advising any unlicensed person or entity to
practice a profession contrary to this

chapter, the chapter regulating the
profession, or the rules of the department

or the board.

nontransport vehicle, and aircraft in use.
The licensee shall provide documentation

ii. Section 401.26(1), F.S.: Every licensee | First Offense
shall possess a valid permit for each
transport vehicle, advanced life support Minimum —

Reprimand and a
$250 fine, up to

Second Offense Third Offense
Minimum — Minimum —

A $1.000 fineora A $2.000 fineor a
$500 fine for each $1.000 fine for each

whichever is greater,

that each vehicle for which a permit is revocation. day of the violation. | day of the violation,

sought meets the appropriate requirements whichever is greater, | whichever is greater,

for a basic life support or advanced life Maximum — up to revocation. up to revocation.

support service vehicle, whichever is Reprimand and a \

applicable, as specified by rule of the $500 fine or a $250 | Maximum — Maximum —

department. fine for each day of | A $1.500 fineora A $3.000 fine or a
the violation, $1.000 fine for each | $1.000 fine for each

day of the violation,

day of the violation,

up to revocation.

whichever is greater,

whichever is greater,

up to revocation.

and revocation.

Transportation EMT-Basic or EMT-

exam at the

Paramedic National Standard Curriculum

program’s sole
expense to all

program’s sole
expense to all

students who were

(i) Emergency Medical Technician and paramedic training programs.
i. Section 401.2701(5). E.S.: Each First Offense Second Offense Third Offense
approved program must notify the
department within 30 days after any Minimum — Minimum — Minimum —
change in the professional or employment |Reprimand and a fine | A $1.000 fine. A $3.000 fine, up to
status of faculty. of up to $250. revocation.
Maximum —
Maximum — A $2.000 fine, up to | Maximum —
Reprimand and a revocation. A $5.000 fine and
$500 fine. revocation.
ii. Section 401.2701(5), F.S.: Each First Offense Second Offense Third Offense
approved program must require its
students to pass a comprehensive final Minimum — Minimum — Minimum —
written and practical examination Reprimand, 2 $1.000 | A $2.500 fine and A $7.000 fine and
evaluating the skills described in the fine, and administration of the | administration of the
current United States Department of administration of the |exam at the exam at the

program’s sole

expense to all
students who were
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or the National EMS Education Standards

students who were

not required to pass

not required to pass

and approved by the department.

not required to pass

the exam, up to

the exam, up to

the exam.

Maximum —
Reprimand. a $2.000
fine, and
administration of the
exam at the
program’s sole

expense to all
students who were

revocation. revocation.
Maximum — Maximum —

A $5.000 fine and A $10.000 fine,
administration of the | administration of the
exam at the exam at the

program’s sole

program’s sole

expense to all
students who were

expense to all
students who were

not required to pass

not required to pass

not required to pass

the exam, up to

the exam, and

the exam, up to revocation. revocation.
revocation,

iii. Section 401.2701(5). F.S.: Each First Offense Second Offense Third Offense

approved program must issue a certificate

of completion to program graduates within | Minimum — Minimum — Minimum —

14 days after completion. Reprimand and a A $500 fine for each | A $2.000 fine for
$250 fine for each student of one each student of one

student of each
graduating class who
is not issued a
certificate within 14
days after graduation

graduating class who
is not issued a

raduating class who
is not issued a

certificate within 14

certificate within 14

days after graduation
for each day beyond

days after graduation
for each day beyond

for each day beyond

the 14 days that the

the 14 days that the

the 14 days that the

certificate is not

certificate is not

certificate is not

issued, and a six-

issued, up to

issued.

Maximym ~

Reprimand and a
$500 fine for each
student of each
graduating class who
is not issued a
certificate within 14

month suspension. revocation.
Maximum — Maximum —
A $1.000 fine for A $3.000 fine for

each student of each

graduating class who
is not issued a

each student of each

graduating class who
is not issued a

certificate within 14

certificate within 14

days after graduation

days after graduation

days after graduation

for each day beyond

for each day beyond

for each day beyond

the 14 days that the

the 14 days that the

the 14 days that the

certificate is not

certificate is not

certificate is not issued. issued, and

issued. revocation.
iv. Rule 64J-1.020(1)(a), F.A.C.: Failure to | First Offense Second Offense Third Offense
prohibit students from being subject to call
while participating in class. clinical, or Minimum — Minimum — Minimum —
field sessions. Reprimand and a A $500 fine per A $3.000 fincora
Rule 64J-1.020(1)(b), F.A.C.: Approved $250 fine per student | student. per day that | $1.000 fine per
programs shall not use students to meet who was subject to the student was student. per day that
staffing requirements. call while subject to call while | the student was

participating in class,
clinical, or field

sessions, or was used

participating in class,
clinical. or field

sessions. or was used

subject to call while

participating in class.
clinical, or field

to meet staffing
requirements.

to meet staffing
requirements.

sessions, or was used
to meet staffin.
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Maximum —
Reprimand and a
$250 fine per

student, per day that

Maximum —
A $500 fine per

requirements
whichever is greater,

up to revocation.

student, per day that
the student was

the student was
subject to call while
participating in class,
clinical, or field
sessions, or was used

to meet staffin
requirements.

subject to call while

Maximum —
A $5.000 fineor a

participating in class,
clinical, or field

sessions. or was used

1.000 fine per

student, per day that
the student was

to meet staffin

requirements,
up to revocation.

subject to call while

participating in class,
clinical, or field

sessions, or was used

to meet staffin

requirements,
whichever is greater,

and revocation.

v. Rule 64J-1.020(1)(b), F.A.C.: Failure to | First Offense Second Offense Third Offense

ensure that each EMT and paramedic

student functions under the direct Minimum — Minimum — Minimum —

supervision of an EMS preceptor. Failure |Reprimand and a The lesser of a The lesser of a

to prevent any student from being in the $500 fine. $1.000 fine or a $500 | $2.000 fine ora

patient compartment alone during patient fine for each day of | $1.000 fine for each

transport. Maximum — the violation. day of the violation,

Rule 64J-1.020(6). F.A.C.: Student-to- Reprimand and a -| up to revocation.

Instructor ratios shall not exceed 6:1 $500 fine or 2 $250 | Maximum —

during the skills laboratory phase of the fine for each day of |A $1.500 fineora Maximum —

program. the violation, $1.000 fine for each | A $3.000 fineora
whichever is greater. | day of the violation, | $1.000 fine for each

whichever is greater,

day of the violation,

up to revocation.

whichever is greater,

and revocation.

vi. Rule 64J-1.020(1)(e). F.A.C.: Course | First Offense

directors shall submit a roster of students

eligible to take the state certification Minimum —

examination to the department within 14 Reprimand.

days after course completion but not

before course completion. This roster shall | Maximum —

be signed by the program director. Reprimand and a
$250 fine.

Second Offense Third Offense

Minimum — Minimum -

The lesser ofa $500 | A $1.000 fine or a

fine or a $250 fine $500 fine for each

for each day beyond | day beyond 14 days

14 days after course | after course

completion that the | completion that the

roster is not roster is not

submitted. submitted, whichever
is greater, up to

Maximum — revocation.

A $500 fineora

$250 fine for each Maximum —

day beyond 14 days | A $2.000 fineor a

after course $1.000 fine for each

completion that the

day beyond 14 days

roster is not
submitted, whichever
is greater, up to

after course

completion that the
roster is not

revocation.

submitted, whichever
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is greater, up to

whichever is greater,

revocation.
"| vii. Rule 64J-1.020(4), F.A.C.: Any First Offense Second Offense Third Offense
changes to the training program as
approved by the department shall be Minimum — Minimum — Minimum —
submitted to the department for review Reprimand. The lesser of a $500 | A $1.000 fineor a
within 30 days of the change. fine or a $250 fine $500 fine for each
Maximum — for each day that the |day that the change
Reprimand and a change is not is not submitted
$250 fine. submitted beyond 30 | beyond 30 days after
days after the the change,
change. whichever is greater.
Maximum — Maximum —
A $500 fineora A $2.000 fineora
$250 fine for each $1.000 fine for each
day that the change | day that the change
is not submitted is not submitted
beyond 30 days after | beyond 30 days after
the change, the change,
whichever is greater. | whichever is greater,
up to revocation.
viii. Rule 64J-1.020(5). F.A.C.: Approved | First Offense Second Offense Third Offense
training programs that wish to offer EMT
or Paramedic training programs after their | Minimum — Minimum — Minimum ~
approval expiration date must apply to the | Reprimand and a The lesser of a The lesser of a
department. . . . The application must be $500 fine, $1.000 fine or a $500 | $2.000 fine or a
received by the department not less than fine for each day of | $1.000 fine for each
90 days before the training program Maximum — the violation. day of the violation,
approval expiration date and no earlier Reprimand and a up to revocation.
than 180 days prior to the approval $500 fine or a $250 | Maximum —
expiration date. fine for each day of | A $1.500 fineora Maximum —
the violation, $1.000 fine for each | A $3.000 fine or a
whichever is greater. | day of the violation, |$1.000 fine for each

day of the violation,

up to revocation.

whichever is greater,

and revocation.

ix. Rule 64J-1.020(6), (7). E.A.C.:
Emergency Medical Technician program
course length shall be a minimum of 300
hours: paramedic program course length
shall be a minimum of 1.100 hours.

Rule 64J-1.020(6). F.A.C.: EMT students

First Offense Second Offense Third Offense
Minimum — Minimum — Minimum —
Reprimand and a A $2.000 fine ora A $3.000 fineor a

-1 $1.000 fine or a $500 | $1,000 fine for each | $1.000 fine for each

fine for each day of

shall not have less than five (5) patient
contacts resulting in the student
accompanying the patient to the hospital.

the violation,
whichever is greater,

day of the violation,

whichever is greater,
up to revocation.

day of the violation,
whichever is greater,
up to revocation.

up to revocation.

Maximum — Maximum —
Maximum — A $2.500 fineora A $5.000 fine or a
Reprimand and a $1.000 fine for each | $1.000 fine for each
$1.500 fine ora day of the violation, |day of the violation,
$1.000 fine for each | whichever is greater, | whichever is greater,

day of the violation,

up to revocation.

and revocation.
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whichever is greater,

up to revocation

x. Rule 64J-1.020(9). F.A.C.: All First Offense Second Offense Third Offense
equipment and supplies must be
appropriate to the objective being taught, | Minimum — Minimum — Minimum —
in good working order. and available in Reprimand and a The Jesser of a The lesser of a
sufficient quantity for the students $500 fine. $1.000 fine or a $500 | $2.000 fine or a
enrolled. There must be sufficient fine for each day of |$1.000 fine for each
equipment so that not more than six Maximum — the violation. day of the violation,
students are required to learn on a single Reprimand and a up to revocation.
piece of equipment at any one time. $500 fine or a2 $250 | Maximum —

fine for each day of | A $1.500 fineora Maximum —

the violation $1.000 fine for each | A $3.000 fineora

whichever is greater. | day of the violation, | $1,000 fine for each

whichever is greater,

day of the violation,

whichever is greater,
and revocation.

up to revocation.

(4)(2) The department will consider all aggravating and mitigating circumstances that are demonstrated by clear
and convincing evidence submitted to the department prior to issuance of the final order of discipline imposed or, if

a formal hearing is held, prior to the date designated in an order of the presiding officer. The department will not

consider evidence of aggravating or mitigating circumstances that is submitted following a formal hearing.

(b) The department will consider, for purposes of aggravation and mitigation of the discipline imposed, clear
and convincing evidence of circumstances that include. but are not limited to:

1. The danger to the public.

2. Previous disciplinary action against the licensee or certificateholder in this or any other jurisdiction.

3. The length of time the licensee or certificateholder has been in business or employed as an EMT or
paramedic in this or any jurisdicstion.

4. The actual damage, physical or otherwise, caused by the violation, and any attempts to mitigate or make
restitution for such damage.
5. The deterrent effect of the penalty imposed.

6. Any efforts at rehabilitation or corrective action or refusal to take rehabilitative or corrective action.

7. The cost of professional treatment.

8. Financial hardship.

9. Prosecution costs and the expense of disciplinary proceedings.

Rulemaking Authority 395.405, 401.35, 456.004(5). 456.024(8). 456.036(16), 456.0361(3), 456.065(2)(b).
456.077(1), (2), 456.3078(1), 456.079, 456.47(7), 893.11, FS.

Law Implemented 395.4045, 401.25(3), 401.26(3), 401.27(8), 401.411, 401.465(2)(2), 456.013(3). 456.015(3),
456.024(3), (4). 456.036, 456.063(2), 456.0635(2), (3), 456.065, 456.072, 456.073, 456.076(8). (11), 893.11. FS.
History—New .
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